Nepal Solidarity Committees (Ireland)

  • Categories

  • Archives

Dr Bhattarai wins in Gorkha-2 with largest margin

Posted by nepalsol on April 12, 2008

Senior Maoist leader Dr Baburam Bhattarai has won the election from Gorkha constituency-2.

Bhattarai secured 35119 votes, the biggest score of individual candidates so far, defeating his closest rival Chandra Prasad Neupane of Nepali Congress by a wide margin of over 30,000 votes. Neupane is Bhattarai’s maternal uncle.

Similarly, the CPN-M has taken the constituency-1 of Gorkha district.

CPN-M’s Parwati Thapa defeated Chiranjivi Wagle, a former minister and central member of NC.

With this update at 11:00 pm, the Maoists have bagged 27 seats while Nepali Congress (NC) has won seven seats and Unified Marxist Leninist (UML) has won six seats even as Nepal Workers and Peasants Party (NWPP) has won two seats in Bhaktapur. Madhesi Janadhikar Forum (MJF) has won in one seat.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: